The Walleye is proud to present the 2015 Thunder Bay Arts & Heritage Awards—an annual recognition program and gala event organized by the City of Thunder Bay. The awards celebrate the achievements of individuals, groups, and businesses and the important contributions they make to our community. It is their collective efforts that make our community unique and inspire others to contribute to the growing arts and culture sector.

On March 31 at the Finlandia Club, eight awards will be presented to winners selected from the following list of nominees by a jury comprised of representatives from the Heritage Advisory Committee, Public Art Committee, and cultural services staff.

arts & heritage awardsTickets for the event are $20 and available at the Baggage Building Arts Centre, the City of Thunder Bay’s Community Services Department (625-2351), and at the door. Festivities begin at 5:30 pm and include live music, appetizers, and a cash bar.



Performing and Media Arts
Arlene Korhonen-King
Michelle Derosier
Andrea Novoa
James Boraski
Michelle Krys
Ryan Redemption
Ron Kanutski
Damien Gilbert
Lindsay Martin aka:DJ Miss Temperance
Eric Miller
Josh Hogan
Julie MacCoy
Candie Badanai
Duncan Weller

Visual Arts
Elizabeth Buset
Jayan Daviau
Lauren McKinnon
Chantal Hughes (Ouellette)


Built Heritage
Excuria (Chris Bernst)
Finlandia Association of Thunder Bay

Cultural Heritage (Individual)
David Ratz
Marilyn Grudniski

Arts/Cultural Heritage (Organization)
Friends of Grain Elevators
Chaban Ukrainian Dance Group
Pelimanni Orchestra
Consortium Aurora Borealis

Cultural Educator
Marcia Arpin
Sam Shahsahabi

Large Business
Red Lion Smokehouse

Small Business
Alumi Association of Lakehead University